Temperate Deciduous Forest

What Causes the Four Seasons?

The temperate deciduous forest has four changing seasons. These forests have hot summers and cold winters. As the seasons change, so do the colors of the leaves of the deciduous trees. Deciduous means that these plants lose their leaves every year and grow them back.

Reasons for Seasons
The four seasons happen because of the tilt of the Earth's axis. At different times of the year, the sun's rays hit different parts of the globe more directly. The angle of the Earth's axis tilts the Northern Hemisphere towards the sun during the summer.

Northern Hemisphere Summer
Southern Hemisphere Summer

Tilt of the EarthWithout the tilt of the earth's axis, we wouldn't have seasons. Instead, the areas around the equator would receive the most sun and the northern and southern hemispheres would be stuck in a gradual gradient of hot to cold. The seasons would not change, it would be about the same temperature year round and there would be no seasons.

Is it true that the earth is closer to the sun in winter?
Because of its elliptical orbit, the earth is closer to the sun during the northern hemisphere's winter. However, distance from the sun does not affect the seasons. The tilt of the earth's axis causes the seasons to change.

Copyright © 2002 Missouri Botanical Garden
MBGnet Home